SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
newhomeowner2024

Help with curb appeal

newhomeowner2024
15 days ago

Hi everyone. I purchased this house last fall. I'm trying to figure out what to do with my front yard. Originally there were 4 really dead bushes under the window on the left. It gets morning and afternoon sun. I'm planning to limewash the brick white and paint the trim black. I'm looking for some already establish plants to kind of fill it out. I was thinking canna lilies, elephant ears, hostas, then some kind of flower ground cover or small flowers. I've been able to find some of those fairly cheap on Facebook marketplace. I'm in Houston so zone 9a. This is my first time having a yard and I would love some help with this!!

Thank you!

Comments (25)

• najlaamundson
    15 days ago

I would remove the tree that is in front of the front patio. I think hostas would look fabulous there - and maybe for some color, add a couple hanging pots with Wave petunias. Under the other window - I think is up to you! You could throw some wildflower seeds there and let it just bloom! I also think what you suggested would be awesome. Congratulations on your first yard!

newhomeowner2024 thanked najlaamundson
  • jackowskib
    15 days ago

That will be a really cute house when you finish the updates you described! That flower bed in front of the porch, I would remove the edger stones and just trench out the border to keep it clean but I would make it about 3 ft wider than it is to give it some prominence there. I would do a rounded flower bed on the left that connects with the front porch one. Have fun!

newhomeowner2024 thanked jackowskib
  • Related Discussions

Help with curb appeal

Q

Comments (21)